Golf carts are a great way to get around, but it's important to know the legal requirements for operating them. In the United States, the age requirements for driving a golf cart vary from state to state. Generally, you must be at least 14 years old to legally operate a golf cart on public property. However, some states require you to be 16 years old and some even require a valid driver's license.
Insurance may also be required in some states to operate on public property. In addition to your state's operating laws, you should also know and comply with all standard road navigation laws when driving your golf cart on public roads, avenues, or beaches. It's always recommended that you do your own research and check with your local municipality about golf cart driving regulations and safety before you hit the road. Below is a table that outlines the age requirements that each state requires its citizens to meet in order to legally operate a golf cart.
In some states, golf carts must also have their own vehicle identification numbers and state vehicle registrations. Driving a golf cart is also a great way for younger drivers to practice their skills before moving on to larger, more dangerous vehicles, such as cars and trucks. Certain states, such as New Hampshire and Maryland, will allow operators of a certain age without a driver's license to operate a golf cart in the presence of an adult. We hope this information will help you find the answer to how old you need to be to drive a golf cart in different states of the United States. However, most other states require golf cart operators to hold a valid state driver's license.